A Sudden Wake of the Night.

Disturbed by the sound of someone calling my name during the middle of the night, I opened my eyes to see my mother with a distressed look on her face. I take a moment to look around to see my family hurtling around half asleep packing their bags. Each step I took the floor creaked, crickets chirped, bats flapped their wings in the night sky. I have no idea what is going on. I want to fall back asleep. My thoughts are scrambled in my mind. I was told to pack my things so I looked for them in haste. I feel drowsy as we exit our ragged old hut. A gust of wind runs down my body, bugs are rustling around the muddy ground. I feel sweaty. It’s pitch black out here, each step I take the more I wonder if we will be safe. A rusty old bus is standing by for us. Oil is leaking from the back of the bus. The dripping noise really irritated me. The bus driver welcomed us. I look out the chipped window to see an infinite jungle of trees.    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *